Fashion: House of Jabari.

Pamela Bosibori

It is a pleasure to interview renowned designer  Makena Anampiu of House of Jabari designs.

Here is the interview.
Pamela: Tell us about yourself
I am Makena Anampiu, 25 years of age, I started my design journey when I was in Emerald International school in grade 12 back in 2009. With the support of my family and those close to me I managed to build the House of Jabari. After high school I went to New York house of fashion to continue my design career. I believe its my passion that drove me to do all this.  It was not an easy road, but here I am.

Pamela:  Describe your designs.
Makena: I would love to describe my style as Afro contemporary. I fell in love with the Kitenge fabric on first sight, and it was my mission to make the best out of it. It is urban and chic couture. My target market is the man or woman out there who values fashion and and looks at art as there way of living.

Pamela: How have you managed to maintain your clientele.
Makena:
I believe in quality, when you deliver the best, price becomes a non-factor. My clients know this, I always keep time too.I  deliver when I am expected too.

Pamela: What are some of the challenges that you face.
Makena:
Challenges are present everywhere, I call mine stepping stones. From, expensive materials to shipping problems. There are things that are out of our control, but I manage to work around them. I also think Kenyans have not embraced Kenyan designers, which should be looked at.

Pamela: Lastly, advice to upcoming designers.
Makena:
Its all about what you want and what you believe in. Be patient and persistent. Always strive to deliver.

Author: campodiary

Campus offers different experiences for everyone. This is a guide that you will need on matters like relationships, fashion, money,events and advice. We are glad you are here.

Leave a Reply

